My protest against Nike shorts

As I look through our family photos and pictures of the kids from this summer, I can’t help but smile..and almost get tears in my eyes.  They have grown so much in just a matter of months and everyone is changing daily.  After I clear the single tear from my cheek, I see the photos a little more clearly and notice one thing, well…two things.  Tie Dyed shirts and Nike shorts.  EXCUSE ME!!!!  Did I not just spend the last two weeks of my life organizing everyone’s clothes?  HELLO(I said that in my best Linda White voice) children! I know what you own, JCrew, Gap, dresses and rompers from Sachi, Vineyard Vines!!   Why do you want to dress like little tiny Jerry Garcia’s about to hoop it up?  Don’t get me wrong, I wear them as well, sans the tie dye, and I guess that I am the one who purchased these items of clothing to begin with…but they do see me get dressed like a proper lady(I say that loosely)everyday for work and for date night. 

 This is not just at my house, I feel like Memphis and Northeastern Arkansas are in a Nike short epidemic.  They are everywhere!  Along with unkept messy ponytails and Chaco sandals. I want my daughters to know that it is fun to be a girl.  It’s fun to paint your nails different colors everyday.  It’s fun to try on 15 different outfits with your best friend.  It’s fun to buy shoes that are so uncomfortable you can’t walk 15 steps in them(I like to call those “sit and sip” shoes)  It’s fun to shop with your momma and your best friend and dress up to go to lunch.  Most who know me, know that I am not a girly girl…..I love to hunt and would rather fish than do anything else.  If I am not outside at least two or three days a week doing something at the river or the lake I am miserable.  But being a good mix and being well-rounded never hurt anyone!  You can wear camo and Columbia fishing shirts( I even saw a cute blue monogrammed one on Pinterest)at the farm and still dress like a lady in public.

(we really can look presentable, I swear)

When I get home today……I am hiding every pair in my house.  From now on when you see the Farmer Clan, we will be back to dresses and cute outfits!(at least until we all go running or on a family walk…or deer and turkey season roll around)

Join me in the fight against the daily wearing of Nike Shorts

Erica

About emabeauty

Kris Leventhal, M.D. The doctor is always in at EMA. Physician Administered Medical Procedures*BOTOX**Juvederm**Cutera Laser**Aesthetic Services**Prescription-Strength Skincare**Jane Iredale Mineral Makeup** 768 Brookhaven Circle Memphis, TN 38117 9016829211 View all posts by emabeauty

Leave a Reply

